Harp pedals

Harps have seven strings per octave that may be sounded at the natural, flattened, or sharpened pitch. In lever harps, each string is adjusted individually, but in pedal harps every string with the same pitch name is controlled by a single pedal. From the player’s left to right, the pedals are D, C, and B on the left and E, F, G, and A on the right. The position of the pedals may be indicated with text marks:

cis''1_\markup \concat \vcenter {
  [D \flat C \sharp B|E \sharp F \sharp G A \flat] }
c''!1_\markup \concat \vcenter {
  [ C \natural ] }

[image of music]

or pedal diagrams:

cis''1_\markup { \harp-pedal "^v-|vv-^" }
c''!1_\markup { \harp-pedal "^o--|vv-^" }

[image of music]

The \harp-pedal command accepts a string of characters, where ^ is the highest pedal position (flattened pitch), - is the middle pedal position (natural pitch), v is the lowest pedal position (sharpened pitch), and | is the divider. A prefixed o will circle the following pedal symbol.

See also

Notation Reference: Text scripts, Instrument-specific markup.

LilyPond Notation Reference v2.25.18 (development-branch).