1.252 quality

ES: variante [de acorde o intervalo], I: qualità (?), F: qualité [d’accord ou d’intervalle], D: Modus (Dur oder Moll), NL: ?, DK: ?, S: ?, FI: laatu.

The quality of a triad is determined by the precise arrangement of its intervals. Tertian triads can be described as a series of three notes. The first element is the root note (or simply ‘root’) of the chord, the second note is the ‘third’ of the chord, and the last note is the ‘fifth’ of the chord. These are described below:

Chord nameComponent intervalsExampleSymbol
major triadmajor third/perfect fifthC-E-GC, CM, Cma, Cmaj, CΔ
minor triadminor third/perfect fifthC-E♭-GCm, Cmi, Cmin, C-
augmented triadmajor third/augmented fifthC-E-G♯C+, C^+, Caug
diminished triadminor third/diminished fifthC-E♭-G♭Cm(♭5), Cº, Cdim

There are various types of seventh chords depending on the quality of the original chord and the quality of the seventh added.

Five common types of seventh chords have standard symbols. The chord quality indications are sometimes superscripted and sometimes not (e.g. Dm7, Dm^7, and D^m7 are all identical). The last three chords are not commonly used except in jazz.

See also


LilyPond — Music Glossary v2.23.82 (development-branch).